What we think does matter


When I was growing up and learning the art of socializing, like most kids, I used to say whatever came to my active, exuberant mind. For instance at a formal family dinner party with people we wanted to impress, I suddenly blurted out, ” Dad?…is the intelligence of a baby determined by how big an orgasm is ?” This inquisitive statement haunted me from then on, repeated mercilessly with gales of laughter over my lifetime, that made me wish I could disappear into the center of the earth. Yet, I learned through many such episodes, that timing and delivery were indeed, critical. At first my family thought it was cute, then it became embarrassing, and as time wore on… annoying. Then when I became an adult, it became an issue. Thankfully I did not stifle myself, and instead have adopted a practice of what is now referred to by many spiritual teachers,  as “mindfulness.”  I have now come to a simple solution. That in any situation, I pause, I consider, I choose and then… I speak.  What, how and why I say and think, is very important . This also applies to singing and performance. Expressing from an unruly mind with scattered thoughts is simply not creative and does not serve anyone , especially myself.  Being mindful and choosing ones thought can make or break a heart.

“You may believe that you are responsible for what you do, but not for what you think. The truth is that you are responsible for what you think, because it is only at this level that you can exercise choice. What you do comes from what you think” ~ A Course in Miracles


2 Comments on “What we think does matter”

  1. AA says:

    That was a very good question … about the orgasm. If one would associate it to, say the Big Bang, would it account for a feasible answer? Keep on questioning even if it may sound silly or annoying.

  2. That is a good question too, I would not have associated it to the Big Bang…who knows? The energetic powers of the universe are indeed mysterious. Thanks for your affirmative response, yet not to worry, I have not stopped questioning whatsoever… I am simply more careful as to where and when I do.


Leave a Reply

